SQLite Forum

Fast way to insert rows in SQLite
Login

Fast way to insert rows in SQLite

(1.1) By Avinash (avinash) on 2021-05-11 08:17:50 edited from 1.0 [link] [source]

Hey everyone! I am very new to SQLite and I am doing a little experiment where I am trying to figure out really fast way to insert rows in SQLite. I am fine with db corruptions, issues due to process crash / OS.

I have been able to insert 100M rows in 33 seconds on my local machine. I was wondering if there are any further optimisations / tricks I can do.

I create a db with one table which has 3 columns. Then I randomly generate these 3 values and insert them. I found this excellent Stack Overflow post and trying it out.

Here's what I have done so far:

1. PRAGMA settings:

PRAGMA journal_mode = OFF;
    PRAGMA synchronous = 0;
    PRAGMA cache_size = 1000000;
    PRAGMA locking_mode = EXCLUSIVE;
    PRAGMA temp_store = MEMORY;",

2. Wrap all insertions in a transaction

3. Use a prepared statement

4. Insert in batches: First I inserted each row one after another, it took about 60s. Then I did a batch insert (of 100 rows) with prepared statement it came down to 33 seconds.

If you would like to check my code:

1. the rust version, does 100M inserts in 33ish seconds.
  2. almost similar python version, does 100M inserts in 150ish seconds using PyPy.

What else I can do to speed this even further?

1. Any PRAGMA settings I can tweak further?
  2. Does doing insertions multithreaded mode can help? I am really not sure what should be my journal_mode and other settings should be if I want to use multithreading.

Appreciate any suggestions. Thank you =)

My machine details: mac OS Big Sur, 2.4Ghz Quad Core Intel Core i5, 8GB RAM, 120GB SSD

I run using gnu time for measuring it:

/usr/bin/time bench_binary
33.98 real
30.40 user
2.58 sys

(2.1) By ddevienne on 2021-05-11 08:48:38 edited from 2.0 in reply to 1.1 [link] [source]