SQLite Forum

Update Query
Login

Update Query

(1) By adrian762 on 2021-02-24 09:26:54 [link] [source]

Hi

i am trying to update a table for the generations going back in my family tree.  so, in the first generation there are 2 parents, then next level 4, next 8 etc..

I have written the (probably not very elegant) code which works fine for the first generations  --  see below

This works when the select father id portion of the code returns one value but as we go up the tree it doubles each time.  The first time it returns two values, which is where i stopped, it successfully updates the first item but not the second.  I want it to update the field 'level' for all the items it finds which means it may be required to update say 512 at higher levels

what i am trying to do is to update those items marked with level =2 to level=3

Any help appreciated as I am just learning and not too good at this

Thanks in advance

update 
generation
set level = '3'
where rootsnumber =(SELECT

FamilyTable.FatherID
FROM
	Generation Generation,
	FamilyTable FamilyTable
WHERE
	Generation.RootsNumber = FamilyTable.childid
 and generation.level='2');

(2) By anonymous on 2021-02-24 09:50:26 in reply to 1 [link] [source]

What is the table definition?

(5) By adrian762 on 2021-02-24 13:19:59 in reply to 2 [link] [source]

Hi Anonymous

Dont know if my reply to the next posting helps. Thanks for looking

adrian

(3) By Ryan Smith (cuz) on 2021-02-24 10:03:54 in reply to 1 [link] [source]

Let us know when you have 64 generations of ancestors, how many people that is. (For fun, compare to the amount of people on Earth at the time). All I can say is: Good luck cousin! :)

AS to the specific question - perhaps I am not following exactly what you want, but if this is all you want:

what i am trying to do is to update those items marked with level =2 to level=3

Then this query should do it easily:

UPDATE generation
   SET level = 3
 WHERE level = 2