SQLite Forum

Rebind for NULL values
Login

Rebind for NULL values

(1) By David Ritter (dritter29) on 2021-12-20 19:16:21 [link] [source]

Hello!

I am new to SQLite programming and I have a question regarding parameter binding. Am I correct in understanding if I have a column that allows NULL values that in order to indicate a NULL value for a row I need to reset all bound parameters and rebind all columns (with the columns that need a NULL value now bound with sqlite3_bind_null instead) and then rebind again if the next row has non-null values?

Thank you for your help! Dave

(2) By Larry Brasfield (larrybr) on 2021-12-20 19:24:08 in reply to 1 [link] [source]

I suggest study of the doc on binding. In particular, the text beginning "Bindings are not cleared by ..." answers your question. Please indicate if that is unclear.

(3) By David Ritter (dritter29) on 2021-12-20 19:35:38 in reply to 2 [link] [source]

Hello Larry!

Thank you for the prompt response. Upon a fifth reading and a few examples I think I was conflating re-binding and re-preparing.

Thank you for the dope slap! Dave

(4) By Larry Brasfield (larrybr) on 2021-12-20 19:41:18 in reply to 3 [link] [source]

My reply was not intended as a "dope slap". We (mostly) try to be kind here.

I prefer a short RTM to encourage people to read the docs, which are fairly well indexed, organized, and comprehensive. My request for a report of any unclarity is sincere. (We take such reports seriously, and we often make doc changes in response to such reports.)

(5) By David Ritter (dritter29) on 2021-12-20 20:50:14 in reply to 4 [link] [source]

Heh. Sorry no offence intended. That's just me being glib.

I'm accustomed to other C database APIs (like ODBC) where there is a null indicator field used for indicating a null value is being specified for a row.