SQLite Forum

after crash loosing all records in a multi-GB table
Login

after crash loosing all records in a multi-GB table

(1) By Stefan Schwarzer (anopheles63) on 2020-09-07 14:14:25 [link] [source]

Dear forum members / sqlite experts,

I am relatively new to sqlite and database programming is not at the center of my work, so I have a hard time finding the right keywords to search the forum. I apologize for questions with answers obvious to you or questions answered in previous posts or missing crucial information.

We are writing mixed image (BLOBs of constant size) and numerical (mixed INTEGER/REAL) information to a sqlite db table from a time critical data acquisition program (sqlite 3.33 on linux/debian, database resides on an ext4 file system). The database contains 5 (different) tables, three of which grow during the acquition process by being INSERTed INTO. The data base is opened by the spell

sqlite3_open_v2(full_path.string().c_str(), &db,SQLITE_OPEN_READWRITE|SQLITE_OPEN_CREATE|SQLITE_OPEN_NOMUTEX, nullptr)

Later,

char pragma[] = "PRAGMA synchronous = OFF";
int res = sqlite3_exec(db, pragma, NULL, NULL, &sql3_err);

is used for performance reasons. File access is from a single thread, writing typically 100 MB/s (The application is multi-threaded and writes in parallel to multiple data bases, but to each one only from a single thread). The INSERTs are issued at more or less constant intervals, bracketed between BEGIN and END TRANSACTION, with a period of 5 s.

The tables' PRIMARY key is either a single INTEGER, growing by 1 from INSERT to INSERT or a pair of INTEGERs, of which the first grows by 1 and remains constant while a second INTEGER ranging from 0 to a small count (say typically 1..5) increases.