SQLite Forum

how to collate in a union and noaccent
Login

how to collate in a union and noaccent

(1.1) By rbucker on 2021-05-01 13:57:46 edited from 1.0 [link] [source]

As is the life of an ETL programmer I'm constantly matching things that do not really match and while I can de-dupe the number of "collate" expressions when creating the schema it's not always known in advance. and so on...

I started with this example:

select * from (
select 'a'
union
select 'A'
)x

then I added the COLLATE

select * from (
select 'a'
union
select 'A'
collate nocase
)x

It's interesting to note that the results depend on the order of the 'A' and 'a'... I'm not sure it's meaningful or not.

I'm not a language expert but in the example I think the "collate nocase" is being assigned to the column so if I added a FROM the COLLATE would need to be attributed to the column and not the from... (no examples in the doc that I could see)

select * from (
select 'a' from test
union
select 'A' collate nocase from test
)x

And so here are my questions...

• can there be multiple collate attributes(can they be stacked)?
  • I read someplace that NOACCENT was left to the programmer? The reason given was that it was too big to implement. SHRUG. Given the use-cases for SQLite one might think it should be baked in.(see below)

example from SQL Server(??)

SELECT * FROM Venue WHERE Name COLLATE Latin1_general_CI_AI Like '%cafe%' COLLATE Latin1_general_CI_AI

THANKS!

(2) By Keith Medcalf (kmedcalf) on 2021-05-01 23:17:10 in reply to 1.1 [source]

It's interesting to note that the results depend on the order of the 'A' and 'a'... I'm not sure it's meaningful or not.

No its not because they are the same when compared using collate nocase. Which one you get depends on which one is "first" in the comparison. And while which one is "first" in the comparison is entirely deterministic, it is an implementation detail on which you should not rely.