SQLite Forum

SQLite WASM with extensions
Login

SQLite WASM with extensions

(1) By anonymous on 2022-12-23 00:10:32 [source]

Hello. I have successfully built SQLite3 from the non-amalgamated sources as well as the WASM bundle.

I was hoping if I compile with the session extension I would get access to it from Javascript, but does that does not seem to be the case. I am not experienced enough to figure out how to add the bindings. Is it possible to get a short description on how I would add a single function binding, e.g. sqlite3session_create? (if it is possible).

Kind regards,

anon

(2) By Stephan Beal (stephan) on 2022-12-23 09:16:11 in reply to 1 [link] [source]

I am not experienced enough to figure out how to add the bindings. Is it possible to get a short description on how I would add a single function binding, e.g. sqlite3session_create?

Exporting specific features to JS requires an understanding of the build environment and the JS API, so there is no short description which will work for someone unfamiliar with those. i'm hesitant to document those steps in detailed public docs because they are internal implementation details which may change at any time (e.g. the part which performs the symbol exports from C is specific to Emscripten and we won't always be tied to Emscripten). i will look in to exposing the session API to wasm if it's feasible (not all bindings are) and get back to you.

(3) By anonymous on 2022-12-23 09:24:43 in reply to 2 [link] [source]

Thank you Stephan, looking forward to see what can be done with it.

Kind regards,

anon

(4) By Stephan Beal (stephan) on 2022-12-23 10:26:50 in reply to 2 [link] [source]

i will look in to exposing the session API to wasm if it's feasible (not all bindings are) and get back to you.

The session extension is huge, adding some 46 new functions and 4 data types to the API, a handful of which are flagged experimental: