SQLite Forum

Select by column id
Login

Select by column id

(1) By anonymous on 2020-08-11 08:59:43 [link] [source]

Hi everyone, I'm new to the SQLite, there's one thing I am wondering, after tons of researches on google and youtube, still can't find the answer.

So my question is, can I select by calling the column id like the primary key, the rowid? Or can I select it by calling a variable that stored the name of the column?

Thank you all, any reply will be appreciated!

(2) By John Dennis (jdennis) on 2020-08-11 12:07:47 in reply to 1 [link] [source]

Not certain whether this answers your question, but it is perfectly valid to do a select from a table where rowid=9999

The difficulty is knowing the rowid, which may change if the table is reloaded.

(3) By David Raymond (dvdraymond) on 2020-08-11 12:13:14 in reply to 1 [link] [source]

As far as I know, no. There is no way that I'm aware of to say...

SELECT "the 4th column, whatever its name is" FROM table1;

You could SELECT *, and then grab the 4th column, but you can't just say "the 4th column".

If you have the column name in a variable (or table name for that matter) you'll have to use string manipulation to insert it into the SQL text. Binding only works for values. So you'll have to do something like

sql = "select " + appropriately_quote(column_name) + " from table1;"

Where appropriately_quote(column_name) is you making sure it's quoted correctly if needed. Some libraries provide tools for that, others may not. But that's where you prevent injection, handle spaces in the column name or other weird things, etc.

(I was gonna add "others please correct me if I'm wrong," but then remembered this is the internet and that's gonna happen anyway)

(4) By Gunter Hick (gunter_hick) on 2020-08-11 16:09:35 in reply to 1 [link] [source]