SQLite Forum

sqlite-utils: a command-line tool and Python utility library
Login

sqlite-utils: a command-line tool and Python utility library

(1) By Simon Willison (simonw) on 2020-09-07 22:52:49 [source]

People on this forum may find this project useful: https://sqlite-utils.readthedocs.io/

It's a combination command-line tool and Python library that I've been working on for the last two years to help me work with SQLite databases.

As a command-line tool

Once installed (pip install sqlite-utils if you have a working Python 3 environment) you can use the sqlite-utils command-line tool to perform all kinds of useful actions.

Here are some examples running against my example database of data from GitHub: https://github-to-sqlite.dogsheep.net/github.db

The sqlite-utils tables my.db command shows you the tables in the database. Add --counts to get their row counts:

/tmp % sqlite-utils tables github.db --counts
[{"table": "users", "count": 4286},
 {"table": "repos", "count": 253},
 {"table": "licenses", "count": 7},
 {"table": "licenses_fts_data", "count": 34},
 # ...

Default output is JSON, but you can use -t to get a readable table, or --csv for CSV for TSV:

/tmp % sqlite-utils tables github.db --counts --csv 
table,count
users,4286
repos,253
licenses,7

There are a ton of other command-line options listed in the documentation. but my favourite is the ability to pipe JSON into the tool and have it automatically create a SQLite table with the correct columns to match the incoming JSON. For example:

echo '[
    {
        "id": 1,
        "name": "Cleo",
        "age": 4
    },
    {
        "id": 2,
        "name": "Pancakes",
        "age": 2
    },
    {
        "id": 3,
        "name": "Toby",
        "age": 6
    }
]' | sqlite-utils insert dogs.db dogs - --pk=id

This creates a dogs.db database with the following schema:

/tmp % sqlite3 dogs.db .schema 
CREATE TABLE [dogs] (
    [id] INTEGER PRIMARY KEY,
    [name] TEXT,
    [age] INTEGER
);