SQLite Forum

INNER JOIN error
Login

INNER JOIN error

(1) By jz1280 on 2020-09-11 11:32:20 [link] [source]

Hi

I am a SQLite newbie. Can anyone please tell me why the following query results in the reported error

sqlite> UPDATE [activity_overview] INNER JOIN [query_projects] ON [activity_overview].[Project ID] = [query_projects].[Project ID] SET [activity_overview].[C3] = 1 WHERE [query_projects].[Planned Start]) > [activity_overview].[Early Start] ...> ; Error: near "INNER": syntax error sqlite>

The same query works on other SQL systems such as MS Access.

Thanks in anticipation of your help

JZ

(2) By Larry Brasfield (LarryBrasfield) on 2020-09-11 13:40:05 in reply to 1 [link] [source]

That a given SQL-like construct "works" on other database systems which accept something like SQL does not mean you should expect SQLite to accept it.

To see what you can reasonably expect, consult SQL As Understood By SQLite. Further, lose the square-bracket identifier delimiters. In SQL, double-quote characters are used for that purpose.

(3) By Richard Hipp (drh) on 2020-09-11 15:03:25 in reply to 1 [link] [source]

I have never heard of UPDATE INNER JOIN before, and I suspect that is an extension that is unique to MS Access.

The latest release of SQLite adds support for UPDATE FROM. This is also a non-standard SQL extension, but in the case of SQLite, we attempted to copy the syntax of PostgreSQL as closely as we could. I suspect that you will want to translate your query into a suitable UPDATE FROM statement.

The offical way to quote identifiers in SQL is double quotes:

UPDATE "activity_overview" ....

The use of [...] for identifier quoting is distinctive to SQL Server and MS-Access. SQLite tries to copy that for compatibility. But you really should get into the habit of using the SQL standard "..." quoting if you can.

(4) By jz1280 on 2020-09-11 16:37:29 in reply to 3 [link] [source]

Hi Richard (and Larry)

Many thanks for your responses.