SQLite Forum

Experience with SQLite as a store of Files and Images
Login

Experience with SQLite as a store of Files and Images

(1) By oezmaster on 2022-06-03 19:38:35 [source]

I am working on an Application in C# where I have manage Images, usually in TIFF-Format, and usually of 1-2 MB size.

Eventually I might have to store Word-Documents etc.

Is it feasible to use SQLite as a store of such Images and Files, or should i consider other options (like Document-DBs, Filesystem)? As this is a locally-run, relatively small Application, an embedded DB like SQLite seemed the most natural choice.

I was also inspired by this article: https://www.sqlite.org/affcase1.html and: https://www.sqlite.org/fasterthanfs.html

What bogs me is that i might have to work with Binary Data in C#, which I have little experience in. The File-Contents ought to be stored as BLOBs, if I understood correctly.

Further, I would appreciate any Case-Studies of OSS (preferably .NET) that uses SQLite as its only source of data.

(2) By Stephan Beal (stephan) on 2022-06-03 22:41:41 in reply to 1 [link] [source]

Is it feasible to use SQLite as a store of such Images and Files...

You may not be aware of this, but the Fossil source control system, which manages sqlite's own source code, stores all of the version-controlled content, including all files in many different formats (plain text and binary), in sqlite. That is to say: sqlite excels at storing files of all sorts, within its size constraints (a max of just under 2GB per file).

The site you're looking at right now is served by that same SCM (from an sqlite db), but the forum parts deliberately do not support files (attachments). The forum posts are documents, but not "files," per se. They all live in a single sqlite db, though.

Further, I would appreciate any Case-Studies of OSS (preferably .NET) that uses SQLite as its only source of data.