SQLite Forum

Index Btree
Login

Index Btree

(1) By anonymous on 2021-05-12 07:25:15 [link] [source]

I'm a CS student and I'm doing some research on index Btree of SQLite. I have read the documentation and my questions are:

• Is there a solution I can use to know the number of pages of Index Btree based on the number of entries and byte length of entries? (Assume that I create a database that has a table (indexed) of 1 column containing numbers)

• Can I determine the degree of pages based on these features above?

(2) By curmudgeon on 2021-05-12 11:15:09 in reply to 1 [source]

Would this help?

https://sqlite.org/dbstat.html

(3) By anonymous on 2021-05-12 12:35:26 in reply to 2 [link] [source]

I mean can I predict based on the number of entries and byte length of entries without using that table?

(4) By Richard Hipp (drh) on 2021-05-12 14:45:38 in reply to 3 [link] [source]

The byte-length of each index entry is (probably) different. You can't easily know what that byte-length is.

CS textbook treatment of b-trees typically assumes each entry within a single b-tree is the same size in bytes. The b-tree is much easier to explain and analyze that way. But in the real world, data sizes vary. So the entry sizes vary. Any particular page of a b-tree might have just a single entry or it might have thousands of entries, depending on how many will fit. And the number of entries per page can vary widely among pages in the same b-tree.

So, for SQLite, if you want to know:

1. The number entries in a b-tree
  2. The sizes of all entries in the b-tree
  3. The depth of the b-tree
  4. The number of pages in the b-tree

Then you have to walk the b-tree. There are no shortcuts.

(5) By Kees Nuyt (knu) on 2021-05-12 15:06:25 in reply to 1 [link] [source]

I guess it would be possible to make a reasonable estimate using the file format specification in the documentation, but it will not be easy.