SQLite Forum

Finding database file
Login
>  I am new to SQLite, webkit and all of the other access methods. I apparently don't understand everything that I am trying to do. I have accessed the database thru JS but can't get a transaction to work.

Firstly, it's perfectly OK being a novice, that's how we all start, but you are making one very typical rookie mistake: Thinking that the rest of us know what's going on.

With regards to your project, we are as novice as you, we have no clue. We rely on your very full description of every little detail to try and grasp it.

If we have full information, helping you becomes trivial and pleasurable. If we have to shake the box like a christmas gift to try and guess what is inside, it ends in frustration usually.

Further to this, it's almost never SQLite that is broken, so to try and help, us SQLiters have to start a guessing procedure about the target platform. You can find tons of discussions on the forum of the form:

"Hi Guys, my SQLite doesn't work because when I ask it for x y and z, I get  nothing/badness."  
"Really? what platform do you use? How do you ask it?"  
"I use Programming Language PL-X. Here's some code:".  
```
  "  G#^&*("SELECT a,b,c FROM x");"  
  "  *#^*&&*%^#("Slightly legible text");"  
```
  " See? it doesn't do the thing."  
"Ok, but what OS, architecture etc...?"  
"It runs on OS Dingdong on a Jimbo-Pro PC."  
and (from some reader who happens to know PL-X):   
  "what does it do when you run *#&%#("ver"); ?"  
"It says: $@%^$#8=1!"  
"Ok, have you tried doing a, b or c?"  
...long silence...  
"Oops, PL-X on Dingdong works different than I thought - Soz for the noise."  

Which leaves us with a sort of frustrated emptiness... We've invested in this user's problem, and got nothing back. (Nor does the next PL-X programmer who comes along find any use in that thread).