SQLite Forum

sqlite-wasm: does OPFS have an automatic data clearing mechanism or bug?
Login

sqlite-wasm: does OPFS have an automatic data clearing mechanism or bug?

(1) By Mayne (mayneyao) on 2023-10-28 18:02:08 [source]

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting on the SQLite forum. I would like to express my gratitude for the work done on sqlite-wasm. It is an exciting feature. I am using sqlite-wasm to build a web app similar to Notion that runs entirely in the browser.

sqlite-wasm uses OPFS for data storage. In the past few months, I have encountered two instances where the data was cleared, but only the OPFS data was affected, and the data in LocalStorage remained intact. I have done some research but haven't found any useful information on this relatively new technology.

Unfortunately, I cannot provide a reproduction path as this issue seems to occur approximately once a month. I am wondering if anyone else has encountered a similar situation.

My browser, Edge version 118.0.2088.69

Thank you all in advance for any insights or assistance you can provide.

(2) By Roy Hashimoto (rhashimoto) on 2023-10-28 18:22:39 in reply to 1 [link] [source]

Are you requesting and did you receive user permission to use persistent storage?

(6) By Mayne (mayneyao) on 2023-10-28 23:37:10 in reply to 2 [link] [source]

OMG,Thank you very much! I think that should be the reason. I tried executing code in the console

if (navigator.storage && navigator.storage.persist) {
  navigator.storage.persist().then((persistent) => {
    if (persistent) {
      console.log("Storage will not be cleared except by explicit user action");
    } else {
      console.log("Storage may be cleared by the UA under storage pressure.");
    }
  });
}

and it returned "Storage may be cleared by the UA under storage pressure."

I looked back and checked the documentation, and found the relevant instructions. This is a point that is easy to overlook.