SQLite Forum

'ON DELETE CASCADE' seems to not be working
Login

'ON DELETE CASCADE' seems to not be working

(1) By Judge (DerJudge) on 2020-12-18 09:07:45 [link] [source]

Hi everyone,

I'm new to SQLite; I am using it in my Python scripts as sqlite3 build-in module.
I have created a minimal DB schema, which has 3 tables:

1. Players
  2. Groups
  3. Group Assignments

The SQL looks like this:

CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS game_group (
    group_id integer UNIQUE PRIMARY KEY AUTOINCREMENT NOT NULL,
    name text UNIQUE NOT NULL,
    created_date timestamp NOT NULL DEFAULT CURRENT_TIMESTAMP
);

CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS players (
    player_id integer UNIQUE PRIMARY KEY AUTOINCREMENT NOT NULL,
    name text UNIQUE NOT NULL,
    created_date timestamp NOT NULL DEFAULT CURRENT_TIMESTAMP
);

CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS game_group_members (
    added_date timestamp NOT NULL DEFAULT CURRENT_TIMESTAMP,
    group_id integer,
    player_id integer,
    PRIMARY KEY (group_id, player_id),
    CONSTRAINT fk_game_group
      FOREIGN KEY (group_id) REFERENCES game_group(group_id)
      ON DELETE CASCADE,
    CONSTRAINT fk_players
      FOREIGN KEY (player_id) REFERENCES players(player_id)
      ON DELETE CASCADE
);

I am creating a new database and load this script into it like this:

import sqlite3

conn = sqlite3.connect('test_db.sqlite')
cur = conn.cursor()
cur.executescript(init_sql)

init_sql contains the previously shown SQL code.

I then create a player named TestUser:

query = "INSERT INTO players (name) VALUES (?)"
cur.execute(query, ('TestUser',))

After that, I create a group named TestGroup

query = "INSERT INTO game_group (name) VALUES (?)"
cur.execute(query, ('TestGroup',))

The result looks like this: ```python query = "SELECT * FROM players" cur.execute(query).fetchall()

-> [(1, 'TestUser', '2020-12-18 08:35:09')]

query = "SELECT * FROM game_group" cur.execute(query).fetchall()

-> [(1, 'TestGroup', '2020-12-18 08:42:43')] ```