SQLite Forum

Help, reading sqlite3_blob_open()
Login

Help, reading sqlite3_blob_open()

(1) By anonymous on 2021-04-28 03:27:49 [source]

I am getting a response code of 1 (The SQLITE_ERROR result code is a generic error code that is used when no other more specific error code is available. )

As I am very new to using sqlite3.c am I doing anything wrong in my code that you can see?  I am not getting a handle but I know (I think I do) that I am parsing the correct values to my function, the file is correct, the table name is correct, the column name is and the row id is correct, I am sure it will be something simple, or not :(

Any suggestions?

Cheers

char *zErrMsg = NULL;
	sqlite3_blob **ppBlob;

try
		{
		if(!Open())
   		  return;

_rc = sqlite3_blob_open(_db, UTF8String(_dbSource).c_str(),
					UTF8String(table).c_str(),
					UTF8String(column).c_str(),
					rowId, flags, ppBlob);

if (_rc != SQLITE_OK)
			{
			String s = zErrMsg;
			sqlite3_free(zErrMsg);
			sqlite3_blob_close(*ppBlob);
			}
		}
	catch (const Exception &e)
		{
                throw Exception(e.Message);
		}
	        finaly:
		{
                CloseV2();
       }

(2) By Larry Brasfield (larrybr) on 2021-04-28 04:20:46 in reply to 1 [link] [source]

One major problem, which I would expect to produce an address fault, is that ppBlob is uninitialized. What you want is code which, excerpted with elisions and string-munging suppressed, would resemble: sqlite3_blob *pBlob = 0; ... _rc = sqlite3_blob_open(_db, zDb, zTable, zColumn, rowId, flags, &pBlob); ... if (_rc == SQLITE_OK ) { // Do stuff with BLOB handle pBlob. sqlite3_blob_close(pBlob); } else { // Moan ... }