SQLite Forum

How do i submit a bug report
Login

(1) By anonymous on 2021-10-20 01:31:41 [link] [source]

Hello. I am a cyber security student. I have found multiple memory corruption vulnerabilities within the lemon LALR parser resulting in controlling multiple registers. I believe that a return to libc exploit is likely to be possible and i would like info on how to properly report this and go through responsible disclosure.

I have done a lot of crash analysis in gdb and I have screenshots and further documentation that the vulnerability does indeed exist.

Thanks, Cyber Security Researcher.

(2) By Stephan Beal (stephan) on 2021-10-20 02:00:17 in reply to 1 [link] [source]

Such reports should be sent directly to the project lead, Richard Hipp:

https://sqlite.org/support.html

(3) By ddevienne on 2021-10-20 06:52:23 in reply to 2 [link] [source]

Well, Lemon is not critical, in the sense that it is run only at build-time,
not runtime, and thus any vulnerability you may find is not essential to SQLite.

That's different about the C code Lemon generates, which IS used in SQLite.
So given how busy DRH is, you may find your reports not quickly acted on I suspect, if at all.

Also note that Lemon's purpose is to serve SQLite primarily.
Richard has made Lemon fixes reported/provided on the list several times,
even though those fixes didn't affect SQLite's own use-case with Lemon.
Still, support on Lemon cannot be considered in the same category as SQLite's.

My $0.02, from a non-team member.

(5) By anonymous on 2021-10-20 23:13:18 in reply to 3 [link] [source]

Thank you very much for the info. I do not know a whole lot regarding how sqlite uses lemon and i have also contacted the creators of lemon. I just thought i would point it out (regardless of the criticality of the vulnerability because i came across it and felt obligated. Could you please go into more detail on how sqlite uses lemon to generate C code?

Thanks, Cyber Security Researcher