SQLite Forum

windows: tester.tcl question
Login

windows: tester.tcl question

(1) By 0xjnml on 2021-01-16 16:31:43 [link] [source]

Hi there.

There's a transpiler-produced port of SQLite for Go - as some of you may have already noticed. The maintainer of the Windows target posted at the issue tracker a proposed fix for proc get_pwd, which seems to work for him.

I'm no Tcl expert. Can someone more familiar with the tester.tcl code please take a look and provide some insight? In particular it would be good to know if we're doing something wrong or if it might be an upstream bug.

Thanks in advance.

-j

(2) By Richard Hipp (drh) on 2021-01-16 17:56:45 in reply to 1 [link] [source]

I did look into this. But I didn't understand the problem. tester.tcl seems to work fine on every machine we run it on here. I don't know why it is not working on the Go port. And the description did not help me to understand, sadly.

(3) By 0xjnml on 2021-01-16 18:53:17 in reply to 2 [link] [source]

tester.tcl works fine on all *nix targets for us. The problem manifests only on Windows.

tester.tcl seems to work fine on every machine we run it on here.

No disrespect intended, but may I ask if there are also Windows machines in "every machine"?

I presume they are and that would imply there's something to fix on Go side. I'm just trying to clarify this so we know which area to look into before digging into it more.

Thank you for your kind cooperation!

(4) By 0xjnml on 2021-01-18 13:56:43 in reply to 2 [link] [source]

The Windows port maintainer did a test with Tcl binary on Windows and reported the observations:

%  string trim [exec -- $::env(ComSpec) /c %CD% ]
'"%"CD"%"' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.
%

It seems to me like a bug in Tcl per se.

We fixed out local copy of tester.tcl here and it appears to work for us.