SQLite Forum

Trying to "Open Database" Safari History.db file and get Error: "could not open safari database file reason: unable to open..
Login

Trying to "Open Database" Safari History.db file and get Error: "could not open safari database file reason: unable to open..

(1) By DallasGrl (dallasgrl) on 2021-08-19 20:48:48 [link] [source]

I am not very technical but trying to use this software to open a Safari History.db file to recover Safari Browsing History. Note that I tried Time Machine and it would not work for me. :(

When I try to Open the file, I get this error message:

could not open safari database file reason: unable to open database file

I tried copying the file to my desktop and naming it History1.db (and it shows it's 7.7 MB) and was able to open it, and I can see the Database Structure files, but when I hit "Browse Data" there is no detail. It only shows one line item with a bunch of numbers in it.

Does anyone have any tips for me to open the original file?

Thanks so much!! -Kim

(2) By Keith Medcalf (kmedcalf) on 2021-08-19 21:42:34 in reply to 1 [link] [source]

First problem sounds like you have a problem with spaces in the filename.

The second issue sounds like, although there is a sign over the road that says "Browse Data", when you throw a baseball at that sign, no "Browse Data" occurs.

This should be taken up with the sign-maker in order to determine the proper way to hit the "Browse Data" sign in order to "Browse Data". Since no one here put up the sign it is unlikely that anyone here will be able to help you.

(3) By Simon Slavin (slavin) on 2021-08-20 13:04:50 in reply to 1 [link] [source]

trying to use this software

The SQLite team made only one piece of software a non-programmer would use. It's very technical, and it's unlikely you used it. On a Mac you would have to be running Terminal.app to get at it.