SQLite Forum

Novice database design and query question.
Login

Novice database design and query question.

(1.1) By Gary (1codedebugger) on 2020-12-16 06:22:33 edited from 1.0 [link] [source]

I need to store media files in the file system rather than a database because they are well over 1 MB. If I understand the SQLite documentation, it is expected to be more efficient to use the file system than a database when BLOBs exceed 1 MB.

In a media-resource table, the file name and/or path and a unique key will be the minimum columns.

I don't want the user to select the media resources by file path, but by creating their own tags and assigning some number of them to each resource. For a very poor example, the user may apply to an image file the tags of MAPS, TEXAS, OIL WELLS. Thus, a second table is needed to hold the unique user-defined tags.

Being a novice, my first thought was that I'd like to add a column equivalent to an array of tag keys to the media-resource table; but I read that is not the correct approach. Instead a third table should be maintained that has a row for each media resource and tag. By that, I mean, in the poor example given above, that single media resource would have three rows in the third table, one for each tag key.

Would you please confirm that this is the correct approach?

If this is the correct approach, and a user wants a listing of all media resources that have tags of both MAPS and TEXAS, in English, a listing of unique keys from the third table would be selected that have at least two rows, one that is MAPS and one that is TEXAS, and joined with the media-resource table to get the file name and location for display.

Assuming table "tags" is:

key, name
1 | MAPS
2 | OIL WELLS
3 | TEXAS

and table "array" is:

media_key, tag
1 2
1 3
2 1
2 2
2 3
3 1
3 2

Is it as simple as below?

SELECT * FROM media_resources WHERE key in ( SELECT media_key FROM array WHERE tag = 1 intersect SELECT media_key FROM array WHERE tag = 3 );