SQLite Forum

Regarding memory mapped i/o
Login

Regarding memory mapped i/o

(1) By Vijay (Vijay_123) on 2022-01-19 12:54:29 [link] [source]

Hi team,

I am new to memory mapped I/o concept. I am currently trying to implement memory mapped i/o so that my i/o intensive operations are fast.

Can anyone let me know how to implement this? Any suitable example link or steps will be helpful.

Thanks in advance.

(2) By Simon Slavin (slavin) on 2022-01-19 13:47:38 in reply to 1 [source]

You should read this page

https://www.sqlite.org/mmap.html

Given your question, note especially

Performance does not always increase with memory-mapped I/O. In fact, it is possible to construct test cases where performance is reduced by the use of memory-mapped I/O.

If you have specific questions, please ask, giving us enough information about your setup to be able to make good guesses.

(3) By Gunter Hick (gunter_hick) on 2022-01-20 07:29:45 in reply to 1 [link] [source]

I would suggest investing into database and query design first, which can lead to performance improvements by several orders of magnitude, before focusing on improving I/O speed - which is likely to yield only percentage improvements.

(4) By MBL (UserMBL) on 2022-01-20 08:09:40 in reply to 1 [link] [source]

I/O intensive operations ...

What is your use case? Is your process the only one or is concurrency an issue for your use case? If you can provide some more info about your application(s) you probably will get some good hints in this forum of what can be done better other than creating an own I/O concept. (I guess you are not the first and only person having thought about such work-to-do.)

Where I do not require persistence but speed in my use cases I try to make use of an in-memory database.