SQLite Forum

Linking tables
Login

Linking tables

(1) By anonymous on 2021-12-02 15:37:37 [link] [source]

Hi everyone, I am very new in programming in general and in using SQLite (literally this is my first project ever - I'm a student) so please forgive me my dumb questions. Anyways:

I have a few problems with the SQLite database when it comes to assigning values to the foreign/primary keys and the link between different tables.

I have literally one "main table" which is the "whole" of an aggregation relationship. This "whole" contains all foreign keys of the other five tables which are the "parts of" tables. Now my problem is, that the FK for the main table always displays NULL even if i stored data sets into the "parts" tables and they have a PK. Can somebody help me?

(2) By Ryan Smith (cuz) on 2021-12-02 15:55:41 in reply to 1 [link] [source]

All we can tell from your description above is: Yep, you probably have a problem.

If you want more help than that, please show the exact schema SQL for making the tables. That should already make the problem clear, but just in case it is more obscure, posting the data (or some of it) for each table in the form of SQL INSERT statements will also help.

(4) By anonymous on 2021-12-02 16:21:46 in reply to 2 [link] [source]

Thank you so much for you quick reply, Ryan. This is what the code looks like for now (written with Python, I'm sorry that my tables have that many attributes :o):

Create all tables for the database:

"Main" table:

self.cur.execute("""CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS lastenheft (LastId INTEGER AUTO_INCREMENT PRIMARY KEY, LastName TEXT, UId INTEGER, ZielId INTEGER, IstId Integer, sysAnfordId INTEGER, EinfAnfId INTEGER,

FOREIGN KEY(UId) REFERENCES unternehmen(UId),
    FOREIGN KEY(UId) REFERENCES ziel(ZielId),
    FOREIGN KEY(UId) REFERENCES istZustand(IstId),
    FOREIGN KEY(UId) REFERENCES sysAnforderung(sysAnfordId),
    FOREIGN KEY(UId) REFERENCES einfAnforderung(EinfAnfId))""")

"parts" tables: