SQLite Forum

Does row header metadata leak INSERT order ?
Login

Does row header metadata leak INSERT order ?

(1) By PyHead (PyHead979) on 2021-01-13 16:35:25 [link] [source]

Hello,

I have a simple table made of 2 columns :

• a random unique INT rowid
  • a text value

Let's say I INSERT the following 2 rows in order (first then second):

• rowid=21 ; text=abc
  • rowid=11 ; text=def

My goal is to make sure that there is no way (even with full access) to know the original INSERT order of the rows.

I guess I must set the pragma "journal_mode = OFF" but is it enough ?

Is there any metadata that can leak the information, like a transaction id, an insert time, ... ? I tried reading the specs and I did not find any obvious reference to such thing for the rows headers, but I am not an expert.

Should I prefer a specific hardware storage : HDD, SSD, in memory ? Maybe HDD should be avoided due to the risk of sectors positions leak ?

Thank you very much in advance for your insight.

(2) By Richard Hipp (drh) on 2021-01-13 16:47:39 in reply to 1 [link] [source]

VACUUM should erase any traces that might be used to help guess the original insertion order.

If you are in WAL mode and are hyper-paranoid, then you might also consider doing:

PRAGMA journal_mode=DELETE;
PRAGMA journal_mode=WAL;

In other words, cycle the write-ahead log to ensure that it also is free from any traces.

(3) By PyHead (PyHead979) on 2021-01-13 17:04:01 in reply to 2 [source]

VACUUM will probably erase the traces indeed, but if I am not mistaken it requires a lock and could take some time on a big DB so this is a command I should avoid spamming too much.

Thus my question : is there really any "trace" to worry about to begin with ?

(4) By Richard Hipp (drh) on 2021-01-13 17:12:43 in reply to 3 [link] [source]