SQLite Forum

Clarification re parameters needed.
Login

Clarification re parameters needed.

(1) By anonymous on 2021-04-19 23:08:18 [link] [source]

I am very new to SQLite3 in terms of sqlite3.c amalgamation, started this project late march, I if have created a working non visible component for c++ builder, so far it is functioning very well with the functions implemented.

How does this work? 

@AAAA	An "at" sign works exactly like a colon, except that the name of the parameter created is @AAAA.

What I mean by my question is, does the sqlite engine give a name to the parameter like @some_name_1 or, if using the @ symbol, should the programmer provide the name 'some_name' and the engine assigns a number in the case of the ':AAA'

Need to understand this to use in a function I have as per example 

if (dbPropertyResult.empty())
	throw Exception("Field types have not yet been obtained for parameter bindings");

std::auto_ptr<TSQLiteParameters> param(new TSQLiteParameters);

param->ColumnName = ColumnName;

if (FParamFromColName)
		param->ParamName = ":" + param->ColumnName; 
	else
		param->ParamName = ":" + IntToStr((int)Params.size());

param->ParamValue = Value;
	param->ColumnType = FieldType;

pName = param->ParamName;

String type;

//get the column type from the dbPropertyResult vector using column name
	if (FindType(ColumnName, type))
		param->ColumnType = type;

Params.push_back(param.get());

param.release();

TIA

(2.1) By Keith Medcalf (kmedcalf) on 2021-04-20 00:08:32 edited from 2.0 in reply to 1 [source]

The name given is exactly the name specified. That is, if the parameter used in the SQL statement is @boogaloo then the recorded name string is exactly '@boogaloo'. The same applies for all parameters that are not purely anonymous positional parameters (a bare ?).

The assignment of paramters works as follows.

Firstly, the "number of parameters" is set to 0.
The SQL statement is scanned from left to right.