SQLite Forum

Stale data returned on subsequent select query
Login

Stale data returned on subsequent select query

(1) By nandita biswas (nanditab) on 2022-01-24 15:44:02 [link] [source]

Hello,

i am relatively new to SQLite and java. I am using SQLite db with Hikari. Data updated is not reflected in the subsequent select statement.

` try (Connection conn = getDatabaseConnection(); PreparedStatement updateStatement = conn.prepareStatement(PromotionSQLiteQueries.UPDATEDATA)) {

updateStatement.executeUpdate();

} catch (SQLException sqlException) {
        throw catchSqlException(context, sqlException);
    }

'

Using JDBC io.micronaut.configuration:micronaut-jdbc-hikari:1.1.0

Adding sleep of 1 secs make the data available.

(2) By Jim Morris (jimmorris33215) on 2022-01-24 16:35:56 in reply to 1 [source]

Did yo ensure your transaction was committed?

(3) By nandita biswas (nanditab) on 2022-01-25 10:14:11 in reply to 2 [link] [source]

Yes. Tried with setting Autocommit and with explicit coo=nnection.commit() Still takes 1 sec to reflect the changes.

(4) By Stephan Beal (stephan) on 2022-01-25 10:19:37 in reply to 3 [link] [source]

Tried with setting Autocommit and with explicit coo=nnection.commit() Still takes 1 sec to reflect the changes.

That's a property/misfeature of your environment. This project is only responsible for the C-level sqlite3 library and its immediate partners (namely the sqlite3 CLI client and the dot-net sqlite3 wrapper), and the C library certainly does not exhibit the behavior you're describing. All Java wrappers for sqlite are maintained by third parties not represented in this forum. My recommendation is to get in touch with the Hikari folks.

(5) By Simon Slavin (slavin) on 2022-01-25 10:43:34 in reply to 1 [link] [source]

I agree with Stephan Beal's reply. This can't happen with bare SQLite or with a SQLite shim which just gives access to the SQLite API. It must be something to do with the language-based library you're using.