SQLite Forum

Finding database file
Login

Finding database file

(1) By muthca on 2020-07-23 20:46:46 [link] [source]

Hello, I am new to SQLite but have some knowledge of SQL. I have a web page written where I am trying to update an SQLITE database using JAVASCRIPT and WebKit. I have copied and example from one of the online manuals and it appears to work, but I can't find the location of the database. I have tried specifying a directory but it doesn't appear there. Below is the code that I am using to open/ create the database. I now that this should go in C:/users/craig/workspace/... but I can't find it there. any help would b greatly appreciated.

var db = openDatabase('My1stdb.db', '1.0', 'my first database', 2 * 1024 * 1024);
db.transaction(function (tx) {
  tx.executeSql('CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS foo (id unique, text)');
  tx.executeSql('INSERT INTO foo (id, text) VALUES (1, "synergies")');
  tx.executeSql('insert into foo (id, text) values (2, "testme")');
  tx.executeSql('SELECT * FROM foo', [], function (tx, results)
	{
		var len = results.rows.length, i;
		for (i = 0; i < len; i++) {
		  alert(results.rows.item(i).text+ ' Row: '+i);
		}
	});
});

(2.1) By Keith Medcalf (kmedcalf) on 2020-07-23 21:41:33 edited from 2.0 in reply to 1 [link] [source]

Since you did not specify a path the database file will be stored in the "current directory" of the process which created it.

To "search" for the file you can use something like this from a command prompt:

dir <drive>:\My1stdb.db /s/b

substituting in turn for <drive> the letter one by each of every drive attached to your computer. Eventually you will uncover the location of the file.

eg:

dir c:\My1stdb.db /s/b

then

dir d:\My1stdb.db /s/b

and so on and so forth until the file is found.

(3) By muthca on 2020-07-24 15:39:23 in reply to 2.1 [link] [source]