SQLite Forum

Noob Question
Login

Noob Question

(1) By anonymous on 2021-04-12 18:44:50 [link] [source]

Hi Everyone,

I have been doing some research for a few months now and i've been trying to migrate some public data regarding wildfires from Excel Tables to SQLite3. 

The issue I am having is that all the Excel files are set up differently. The tables are not always in the same positions or even the same pages. 

For a bit of background, the tables all represent a fire report for a weeks worth of time. I would also like to add a date column once the files are imported from Excel into SQLite3.

If anyone has any tips or advice for this project please let me know. My experience is limited and I have run out of ideas for the time being.

Thanks!

(2) By anonymous on 2021-04-12 19:00:44 in reply to 1 [link] [source]

Hello,

Sounds like a neat idea and exactly the use case for SQLite! You'll likely need to convert those spreadsheets into csv files and import with the sqlite3 shell.

You can read the cli documentation here. You can read about the date & time functions here. Start with some sample data or at least backup your data before modifying it, just in the event you need to revert things.

If you would rather use a GUI to import data into a sqlite3 database, I recommend sqlite-gui, which has no affiliation with the SQLite project. There are many GUI applications to use, so don't feel like my solution is the only one; it's just something I've grown fond of over the last few months.

(3) By anonymous on 2021-04-12 19:17:00 in reply to 2 [source]

Thanks for the information! So if I convert the files to CSV would I then be able to pluck the tables from Excel easier before entering them into SQLite?

(4) By anonymous on 2021-04-12 22:05:43 in reply to 3 [link] [source]

I'm assuming your tables are made from some kind of data in the Excel document. You will want to export/save as the 'raw' data as a csv, not some kind of chart/table/pivot table.