SQLite Forum

Why Sqlite parse error: line 1:94: expecting RPAREN, found 'OR' in CHECK constraint?
Login

Why Sqlite parse error: line 1:94: expecting RPAREN, found 'OR' in CHECK constraint?

(1) By Mario Emmenlauer (emmenlau) on 2020-11-12 14:56:14 [link] [source]

Dear SQLite users and developers,

thanks a lot for this awesome software!

I'm really a beginner with SQL but I managed to work with SQLite quite nicely (or so I think). Now I've met a warning that raises my concern. When I open my database file with sqlitebrowser3, it complains:

Sqlite parse error: line 1:94: expecting RPAREN, found 'OR'(CREATE TABLE images_raw(identifier_s1 VARCHAR UNIQUE PRIMARY KEY CHECK(identifier_s1 IS NULL OR (typeof(identifier_s1)='text')), path_s1 VARCHAR UNIQUE CHECK(path_s1 IS NULL OR (typeof(path_s1)='text')), is_internal_b0 INTEGER CHECK(is_internal_b0 IS NULL OR (typeof(is_internal_b0)='integer' AND is_internal_b0 BETWEEN 0 AND 1))))

I assume something is wrong in my CHECK statements but I fail to see what. I've googled for a while but all the examples I find are similar to mine (as close as I can see). Maybe there should be more (or less) bracketing of the statements?

I want to achieve with CHECKs that entries can only be of their corresponding C++ type. In this case, identifier_s1 corresponds to a std::string, path_s1 corresponds to a std::string and is_internal_b0 corresponds to a bool.

Is my syntax (and logic) correct? Or how to do this better?

(2) By Richard Hipp (drh) on 2020-11-12 15:15:26 in reply to 1 [link] [source]

I do not think that error message is coming from SQLite. I suspect you are using a third-party GUI of some kind and that third-party GUI is generating the error message you are seeing.

Your CREATE TABLE statement seems to be fine in SQLite. I think this may be a problem in whatever third-party GUI tool you are using.

(4) By Mario Emmenlauer (emmenlau) on 2020-11-12 15:34:38 in reply to 2 [source]

Dear Richard,