SQLite Forum

Unstack one column to multiple
Login
I studied thoroughly again the pattern of the stacked data in a single column and found below workaround. I used blank rows as anchor points to encode the record number. I marked preceding and succeeding blank rows in the range the encapsulated values can be marked as one record. 
I have taken the small set of sample data for testing purpose with variable number of fields per record.
Below is the sample data in the file test.csv, first 2 rows are blank and every subset (actual record) is also followed by 2 blank rows.

item11
item12

item21
item22
item23

item31
item32
item33
item34

---- step1 # importing the sample data from the fileā€¦
.mode csv
.import test.csv test

---- step2(i) # adding row numbers and then deleting one of 2 blank rows so that every single blank row becomes the starting and ending point of the record. 
DROP TABLE IF EXISTS test1;
CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS test1 AS SELECT *, ROW_NUMBER() OVER() rownum FROM test ;
DELETE FROM test1 WHERE item='' AND MOD(rownum,2)=0;
---- step2(ii) # inserting one blank row at the end for last record ending point and deleting row number column as it has become inconsistent due to deleting blank rows.
INSERT INTO test1(item) VALUES('');
ALTER TABLE test1 DROP rownum;
---- step2(iii) # adding back the row numbers.
DROP TABLE IF EXISTS itemrow;
CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS itemrow AS SELECT *, ROW_NUMBER() OVER() rownum FROM test1 ;
--- result from step 2 looks like below.
.mode csv
.h on
SELECT * FROM itemrow;
item,rownum
"",1
item11,2
item12,3
"",4
item21,5
item22,6
item23,7
"",8
item31,9
item32,10
item33,11
item34,12
"",13
"",14
--- there are 2 blank rows at the end but that hardly affect the process.
---- step3 # creating the range table as a view which consists of 3 columns;
(i)	record number (recno) which is the filtered blank rows because each blank row represents the starting point of a record hence each blank row is a record number.